Our Achievements

Over the years, Northwest Specialty Hospital has won many awards for patient satisfaction from local and national organizations.

We pride ourselves on our patient satisfaction. Not only does it provide us the capability to continue to operate but it enables us to provide excellent service to our community.

CMS 5-star overall hospital quality rating

5-Star Overall Hospital Quality Rating in 2020

Each year the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) evaluates more than 3,400 hospitals from across the nation on the quality of services that they provide with five stars as the highest rating a hospital can receive. The scores are based on the HCAHPS (Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems) survey, which is the first national, standardized, publicly reported survey of patients’ perspectives in hospital care.

Northwest Specialty Hospital is one of less than 10% of the hospitals in the country, and the only hospital in the region, to win the coveted five-star award from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). This marks the seventh consecutive year that Northwest Specialty Hospital has been recognized by CMS as one of the highest quality hospitals in the nation, based on 11 publicly reported measures in HCAHPS survey, which assesses patient experiences.

Our goal is to put patients first. This prestigious award recognizes the dedication our team devotes to patient care every day at Northwest Specialty Hospital,” said Northwest Specialty Hospital CEO, Rick Rasmussen. “As the only five-star hospital in the area, our history winning this award consistently for the last seven years in a row speaks volumes about our level of commitment to patient care as part of our identity as an organization. This is who we are.

See a full list of CMS ratings in Inland NW

Patient Safety Excellence Award™ Recipients 2017

The Patient Safety Excellence Award recognizes hospitals that have the lowest occurrences of 14 preventable patient safety events. These hospitals are in the top 10% in the nation for patient safety.

If you need to be admitted into a hospital, the last thing you would expect is to become unnecessarily sicker. Patient safety measures how well a hospital prevents injuries, infections, and other serious conditions based on 14 serious, potentially preventable adverse events.

Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ Recipients 2017

The Healthgrades Outstanding Patient Experience Award™ recognizes hospitals that provide an overall outstanding patient experience. Healthgrades evaluates patient experience performance by applying a scoring methodology to 10 patient experience measures, using data collected from the 32-question survey of the hospital’s own patients. Hospitals in the top 15% with the highest overall patient experience scores are recognized as Outstanding Patient Experience Award recipients.

Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval

The Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval

An independent, not-for-profit organization, the Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 20,500 health care organizations and programs in the United States. Joint Commission accreditation and certification is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization’s commitment to meeting certain performance standards.

The Joint Commission has accredited hospitals for more than 60 years and today it accredits approximately 4,055 general, pediatric, long term acute, psychiatric, rehabilitation and specialty hospitals, and 358 critical access hospitals. Approximately 78% of the nation’s hospitals are currently accredited by The Joint Commission.

Medicare & Medicade Patient Satisfaction Award

Patient Satisfaction Rating - The Centers For Medicare and Medicaid Services

The summary rating includes an average of a hospital’s performance on each of the 11 publicly reported measures from the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems survey. The HCAHPS survey evaluates the patient experiences at the facilities.

The survey asks patients about factors such as the responsiveness of hospital staff to their needs, the quality of care transitions, and how well information about medications is communicated. It also asks about cleanliness and quietness of the facility and whether or not the patient would recommend it to others.

Women's Choice - The Voice of Women

100 Best Hospitals For Patient Experience

Women account for over 85% of all consumer purchases and 90% of all family healthcare decisions. There is no stronger consumer segment than women. Women are also responsible for the majority of decisions on child care, housekeeping, and elder care.

The Women’s Choice Award recognizes brands and businesses women can trust based on what matters most to women as well as customer recommendation ratings.

The Women’s Choice Award methodology differs based on the industry but every awarded brand and service shares favorable consumer recommendation ratings, a critically important measure to women.

We encourage you to review the methodology of each industry so that you can be confident in how we represent the voice of women. The research team at the Women’s Choice Award translates the collective voice of women into a highly objective and consistent methodology.